Ending Insurgency

APPRECIATING STAKEHOLDERS’ INVALUABLE CONTRIBUTIONS: 53IB Presents Matapat Eagle Awards to ZamboSur Gov, Congresswoman

The Philippine Army’s 53d Infantry “Matapat” Battalion (53IB) presented Matapat Eagle Awards as Tokens of Appreciation to Zamboanga del Sur Governor and Provincial Task Force to End Local Communist Armed Conflict (PTF-ELCAC) Chairperson Gov. Victor J. Yu and ZamboSur 1st District Representative Congw. Divina Grace C. Yu in a simple ceremony held in connection with the unit’s 37th Founding Anniversary Celebration with the theme “Matapat @ 37: Victory in Time of Convergence” at 53IB Headquarters, Camp Sabido, Guipos, Zamboanga del Sur on January 28, 2022.

In his message, Governor Yu expressed his gratitude to 53IB for its contributions to making Zamboanga del Sur free from communist terrorism and insurgency.

“Our sincerest gratitude to the men and women of 53IB for their commitment and dedication to duty which paved the way for the ZamboSur’s eventual declaration as insurgency-free province,” said Gov. Yu.

Also, Congw. Yu thanked the 53IB for its peacekeeping and sustainment efforts efforts in bringing government services to hinterland communities.

“Your commitment to your duty enabled us in the government to regain the trust and confidence of the people in the hinterlands,” said Congw. Divina Grace Yu.

Meanwhile, 53IB Commanding Officer Lt. Col. Jo-ar Herrera also expressed his sincerest gratitude to Governor Victor Yu and Congresswoman Divina Grace Yu for their invaluable support rendered to the 53IB which greatly contributed to the accomplishment of the unit’s mission.

“The close partnership and convergence between the 53IB and the Provincial Government of Zamboanga del Sur played a vital role in our success and victory: in keeping the Province safe and in delivering government services to hinterland communities,” said Lt. Col. Herrera.

In 2021, the Province of Zamboanga del Sur was declared as an “Insurgency-free and development-ready Province” by virtue of Sangguniang Panlalawigan Resolution No. 1357-2021.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *