Ending Insurgency

NPA REMNANTS SURRENDER: 53IB Facilitates Surrender of 6 NPA Members in Guipos, ZDS

The Philippine Army’s 53rd Infantry “Matapat” Battalion (53IB) in partnership with the Dumingag Municipal Task Force-ELCAC Oplan “Amuma” facilitated the surrender of on regular communist terrorist group (CTG) members and five communist militia member at 53IB Headquarters, Camp Maj. David Sabido, Guipos, Zamboanga del Sur on May 12, 2021.

The communist terrorists who voluntarily surrendered to the 53IB’s Mass Base Operations (MBO) team include one communist NPA terrorist and five Yunit Militia (YM) members of Communist Party of the Philippine-New People’s Army (CPP-NPA) Main Regional Guerrilla Unit (MRGU) and GF-BBC, Western Mindanao Regional Party Committee (WMRPC).

Currently undergoing custodial debriefing, the CTG members include: Baby Angel Tumiclas, a.k.a. Bea, 23 years old; Julie Larisan, a.k.a. Esan, 40 years old; Carlito Mariano, a.k.a. Lito/Balas, 46 years old; Robel Mantao Alay, a.k.a. Jano, 24 years old; Buloy Señara Lumamba, a.k.a. Tadin, 38 years old; and Loreto Lumamba, a.k.a. Queen, 36 years old.

The CTG members yielded their firearms including an M79 Grenade Launcher with nine rounds live 40mm, an improvised M14 Rifle, a 38-caliber revolver.The surrendering process was facilitated by 53IB Bravo Company Commanding Officer 1Lt. Niel Kim Garcia and 1Lt. Alpha Company Commander Janryl Gumalad in collaboration of 547th Engineer Battalion under Commanding Officer Lt. Col. Michael Lemi, 551st Engineer Battalion Commanding Officer Lt. Col. Raymundo Rosario; RMFB9 PMaj.Nedzfar Mohammad Hassan; 2nd Provincial Mobile Force Company Commander PLTC Bonifacio Arañas; Dumingag MPS Commander PMaj. Mark Jerome Nebria, and 12th Military Intelligence Company.

These activities are parts of the 53IB’s drive to pursue transformation to become a world-class Army that is a source of national pride by 2028 in line with the Army Transformation Road Map (ATR).

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *